November 17, 2009

The Lonely Life of A Jeweler

Posted in diamonds, gemologist, jeweler, jewelry, jewelry design, jewelry repair, rose diamonds, Uncategorized tagged , , , , , , at 6:38 pm by rosediamonds

Just a quick note to get something off my chest.  Since I have moved from South Florida to the Midwest, I’ve noticed some changes (other than the frigid weather).

 

In South Florida, my husband and I owned two jewelry stores and were friends with many other jewelers in the neighborhood or within the same mall.  Not only did we “loan” out pieces the other jewelers were in need of, but we met and discussed (whined) about the jewelry industry in general, trading ideas and tips.

 

Since I have moved, I have not lost contact with my South Florida contacts, but we have noticed the local jewelers are less than friendly.  It was easy to identify the well dressed pairs that came in demanding prices on a one carat princess cut I SI 1 solitaire as the competing jewelers around town.  There was a parade of them for the first two months we were here.

 

This industry is rife with “knockoffs,” and there is always some risk sharing too many secrets amongst your peers.  At the same time, I feel like we can all learn from each other.  A kid straight out of school can sometime show an “old hand” a shortcut in diamond setting.  We’ve learned not to underestimate the value of having colleagues in the industry.

1 Comment »

  1. Vanessa Twentyman said,

    Why’d you leave South Florida? Jewelers in South Florida are some of the nicest, really. Well in my experience anyway.


Leave a Reply

