December 6, 2010

December Thoughts

Posted in rose diamonds tagged at 4:34 pm by rosediamonds

Well, we have come full circle on the birthstones posts.  Hope you enjoyed learning some interesting fast facts about them.  My new series of articles will be on diamonds, starting next month.

The namesake of my business has passed away this month, and I will use this month’s post to explain the company name.

My husband and I came up with the name “Rose Diamonds” in 2004.  Being my usual geeky self, I adored the double meaning of the name.

A rose diamond is a vintage style of diamond faceting.  Rose-cut diamonds are some of the earliest cuts that are found in diamond history. Rose cut diamonds were introduced as early as the 1500’s and were popular until the early 1900’s. The shape of a rose cut diamond resembles the petals of a rose bud. The bottom is flat. The crown of Rose-cut diamond is domed shaped and the facets meet in a point in the center. The number of facets varies.

The main meaning behind our company name is inspired from  my family.  My favorite set of grandparents’ last name is Rose.  Dorothy and Dennie Rose grew up in the Washburn/Cassville, MO area.  Later, they moved to Springfield, MO to be closer to our family.  They lived two streets over from my childhood home, and I would occasionally “run away” to their house.  They were always open-minded and kind, overlooking my many mistakes and idiosyncrasies.  Dorothy Rose passed from this earth June 27, 2007.  Dennie Rose passed November 29, 2010.  I will continue to strive to make them proud by working hard and staying honest.  They will not be forgotten.

This picture is taken in Miami, FL.  Gram & Papa came to visit, and we had a blast.

Happy holidays to everyone!

1 Comment »

  1. Sharon said,

    Not long ago, they looked young and healthy. They came down to Florida to give you the diamond cluster ring that I envied. I can’t believe both of them are gone in a blink of an eye. Time flies. We all will have terminal illness if not struck by a car.


Leave a Reply

